top of page
  • hamiltonhe

Haiku & Photoku

This week I explored poetry through writing a Haiku and a Photoku.

A Haiku is a Japanese form of poetry that celebrates nature and that is just what my Haiku and Photoku did. A Haiku has 3 lines and is made up of 17 syllables. The first line has 5, the next line has 7, and the last line has 5 again.


Here is my Haiku I wrote:


Leaping from flowers

Like ballerina's in a show

Graceful collectors


I wrote this haiku using one of my favorite pictures I took a while ago. Reading the haiku now, the reader may not know exactly what it is about and it kind of a puzzle to try to figure it out. Look at the image below for what inspired me to write it:




It was a bee! Bees are something that really truly amazing me and I think that are really interesting, but at the same time they really scare me. I have been stung by many bees/wasps/yellow jackets and I know first hand the power that these small insects have. Not only are their stings or bites powerful, they also have a very powerful impact on our natural life and environment. The importance of these insects is very high for such a small living creature that we often don't always see the true value they have.



Here is my Photoku:


Peace

The peak of mid-day

Water racing across rocks

Perfect place for peace


This is a huge waterfall that my family and I went to not too long ago and the hike to get to it was one of the steepest I have even done and there were parts that were very scary. However, once we reached the waterfall it was amazing this place was truly beautiful and the picture I took to remember it does not do how glorious this waterfall is any justice. It was truly amazing.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page